# Minutes of Meopham u3a's 7th AGM 2022 held on the 12<sup>th</sup> July 2022 at St John the Baptist Church at 14:00

- **1, Chair's Welcome:** Lionel Patterson (Chair) welcomed everyone to the meeting. Lionel made the necessary checks that everyone had signed in, received and read the AGM paperwork and was a fully paid up member so that voting could take place.
- **2. Apologies for absence**: 63 apologies and proxy votes were recorded and three additional apologies were received from : Diane Coutinho, John and Maureen Reeves.

#### 3. Minutes of the last AGM on 12.10.21:

Proposer: David Burkitt 289; Seconder: Chris Hague-Smith 123

The Minutes were accepted unanimously as a true record.

4. **Presentation of Trustees Annual Report for 2021-22**: Lionel Patterson (Chair) thanked everyone for their contribution that has led to the success of Meopham u3a's 7th year. The adoption of the Trustees' Report was unanimously adopted by the Members present.

**Proposer:** Kenneth MacEwan 409: Di Fenton 481

The Trustees Annual Report was accepted unanimously.

5. **Presentation Of Annual Accounts & Treasurer's Report for 2021-22**: The adoption of the accounts as a true record of the finances of Meopham U3A as of the 18<sup>th</sup> June 2022. **Proposer:** Roger Brown 416; **Seconder:** John Fielding 658

The members present unanimously adopted the accounts as a true record.

## 6. Election of Executive Committee:

Chair Nominee	MICHAEL CHANTRY	Mem. No. M 386
Proposer	Kevin Divall	Mem. No. M 456
Seconder	D. Coutinho	Mem. No. M 630

Vice Chair Nominee	KEVIN DIVALL	Mem. No. M 456
Proposer	M.Chantry	Mem. No. M 386
Seconder	D, Coutinho	Mem. No. M 630

There being no other nominations for these posts, they were duly elected.

Nominations for the 2 remaining Officer positions were:

Hon. Secretary Nominee	CAROLE BAYLISS	Mem. No. M 247
Proposer	Roger Brown	Mem. No. M 406
Seconder	Sandie Brown	Mem. No. M 405

Hon. Treasurer Nominee	LINDA HALL	Mem. No. M 446
Proposer	J. Clarkson	Mem. No. M 434
Seconder	E. Parker	Mem. No. M 417

There being no other nominations for these posts, they were duly elected.

The maximum number of Non-Officer Nominations needed to meet the requirements of the constitution (7(ii)) was 10. The number of proposals remaining for these positions was 6.

# Nominations for the remaining Non-Officer positions:

Committee Member Nominee	Sue Bates	Mem. No. M 662
Proposer	Elizabeth Millard	Mem. No. M 151
Seconder	Jill Smith	Mem. No. M 239

Committee Member Nominee	Beryl Connelly	Mem. No. M 191
Proposer	Linda Doyle	Mem. No. M 326
Seconder	John May	Mem. No. M 175

Committee Member Nominee	Andrew Morgan	Mem. No. M 313
Proposer	Sue Walters	Mem. No. M 290
Seconder	David Walters	Mem. No. M 291

Committee Member Nominee	Mem. No. M
Proposer	Mem. No. M
Seconder	Mem. No. M

Committee Member Nominee	Mem. No. M
Proposer	Mem. No. M
Seconder	Mem. No. M

Committee Member Nominee	Mem. No. M	
Proposer	Mem. No. M	
Seconder	Mem. No. M	

There being no other nominations for these posts, they were duly elected.

## 7. Appointment of Auditor/ Account Examiners:

**Tara Lawrence** has offered to audit the accounts 2022 and is willing to do so again 2022-23.

**Proposer:** Chris Hague-Smith 123

Seconder: Lynda Bolton 517

It was agreed unanimously by the members present to accept Tara Lawrence as the Auditor.

### 8. AOB: None

9. **Closing Address and Thanks**: Lionel said that he had enjoyed his time as the Chairman, The times were unusual and difficult for everyone but Meopham u3a's membership had steadily increased and the number of interest groups also illustrated the enthusiasm for the organisation.

He made a personal "Thank you" to Ann MacEwan as a long serving secretary and then to other retiring members of the Committee.

**10. Close of meeting**: There being no further business the meeting closed at 14:30.

Ann MacEwan

Mu3a Secretary